Thank you, and Goodbye

This is my final post. I very much wanted to continue my blogging here. But my life is busy in ways it wasn’t back when I joined this group (exactly three years ago). In addition, my goals and mental energy are focused elsewhere, which has created writer’s block. Frankly, I’ve not recovered from the loss of my material with the demise of Positive Liberty (about which, I’m apparently too stupid to know how to recover).

For those who are interested, I’m still writing and blogging, as well as speaking for DownsizeDC.org. We’re also launching a new website for the Downsize DC Foundation. It should launch late this week or early next week. There we’ll speak of stupid political tricks, public choice heuristics, and human progress achieved without (despite) big government (Mr. Hanley, in particular, will enjoy this new site).

Jason Kuznicki has had a profound effect on my thinking — even changed my mind. DA Ridgely has made me laugh, and I’ve used quotable lines of his in my day job (but I miss Constant Viewer). James Hanley has been an honest and fair defender, as well as an astute political scientist. A compliment from Hanley in the comments section meant more to me than he’ll ever know. His decision to launch this particular blog after all we went through the last seven or eight months of PL would make him “heroic,” if we weren’t all tired of seeing that word thrown around so much. Jon Rowe is the reason I was here, and is a friend. He should write his book. Frankly, I’ve known I should quit for a while, but I didn’t want to disappoint Jon.

I truly respect the other writers here, and wish them Godspeed. You might even see me in the comments section from time to time. So, for the last time, I write…

Hardball delenda est.

This entry was posted in Administrative notices. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank you, and Goodbye

  1. James Hanley says:

    Yes, we’re all sick of the word heroic, and since I faced no threats or harms in launching this blog, I couldn’t accept the word. But I deeply appreciate the sentiment.

    I am sorry to see Jim go, but I think we all understand the busyness of life, particularly when someone is trying to run an organization not as a hobby but as a group that will have real influence. I wish Jim the best of luck, and will certainly peek into Downsize DC’s new website.

    Maybe someday we can actually meet, and perhaps have lunch.

  2. Jon Rowe says:

    Thanks for the kind words and I’m also sorry to see you go.

    Keep fighting the good fight as the good book says.

    And that book will come one day. 🙂

  3. D.A. Ridgely says:

    I, for one, don’t want to see DC downsized; I want to see it receded to Maryland.

    Keep in touch. Maybe guest blog here once in a while?

    And don’t worry, Constant Viewer will get out of celebrity rehab sooner or later.

  4. AMW says:

    We’ll miss you, Jim. You opened some intellectual doors to me, and I’ll never forget it.

    Go with God

  5. James K says:

    Best wishes Jim.

Leave a Reply

